[pronounced zero] is a collective of musicians created in 2004, whose full-time members are:

Sylvain Chauveau_acoustic guitar, glockenspiel
Stéphane Garin_percussion, phonography
Joël Merah_acoustic guitar

The core of 0 (Garin, Merah and Chauveau) is based in Bayonne, Pau (France) and Brussels (Belgium) but many guests from different cities or countries are also part of our activities. The band can increase or decrease for each specific project and the members can come and go.

0 plays original compositions by its members and also performs pieces by other composers.

The band has played live around Europe (Switzerland, France, Spain, Belgium, Portugal and Germany).

(for radio) is the monthly online radio playlist of the collective directed by Stéphane Garin and Catherine Luro.

Have also been or are involved with 0: Chantal Aguer, David Arriola, Maxime Bodson, Jean-François Brohée, Damien Darioli, Maximilien Dazas, Guillaume Decramer, Mathias Delplanque, David Dewaste, Nicolas Didier, Gabrielle Duplantier, Maxime Echardour, Julia Gallego Ronda, Julien Garin, Laurie Garin-Garcia, Julien Kaliski, Arnaud Lassus, Rainier Lericolais, Maxime Lê Hùng, Sevàn L’Hostis, Catherine Luro, Stephan Mathieu, Geoffroy Montel, Vincent Planès, David Quiggle, Maitane Sebastian (founding member, 2004-2009), Quentin Sirjacq, Didier Teillagorry, Juliane Trémoulet.

In the past years, the band has also performed as 0 (for percussion) or Ensemble 0, but we no longer use those names and we prefer to be just called 0.


O(ゼロ)は2004年にSylvain Chauveauを中心にフランスで結成された室内楽アンサンブル。武満徹作曲賞を受賞した若手現代作曲家Joël Merah、パリ管弦楽団のパーカッション奏者Stéphane Garinというフランスの現代音楽シーンの才能を従え、これまでにヨーロッパ各地で の様々な音楽祭やホールで公演、自身の作品演奏に限らず、スティーブ・ライヒ、モートン・フェルドマン、杉本拓、ジョン・ケージ、エリック・サティ、ギャヴィン・ブライアーズらの作品も演奏し、アンサンブルの持つ未知なる可能性を追求している。2013年4月末に全7都市8公演におよぶ来日ツアーを成功させた。


Sylvain Chauveau(シルヴァン・ショヴォ
シルヴァン・ショヴォは、1971年フランス生まれのアーティスト。ピアノ、ギタ−、ヴァイオリン、チェロ、ヴィオラ、電子音などを自在に用いて繊細に音 楽を表現し、近年では自らボーカルを務める。近作はFatCatからのサウンドトラック集『Simple』、Stephan MatheiuとのコラボレーションによるSmogのカバー・アルバム『Palimpsest』。2013年最新作となる『Kogetsudai』をBrocoliからリリース。

Stéphane Garin(ステファヌ・ガリン)
パリ管弦楽団、アンサンブル・アンテルコンタンポラン、レ・シエクル室内管弦楽団に参加。Pierre Boulez, David Robertson, Léon Fleisher, François-Xavier Roth ou Fayçal Karouiらの指揮のもとに演奏。Pascal Comelade、Michel Doneda、Daunik Lazro、 Pierre-Yves Macé、Thierry Madiot、Marc Perrone、Dominique Répécaudらと共演を果たしている。池田亮司『Superposition』のパフォーマーを務める。

Joël Merah(ジョエル・メラ)
2003年度武満徹作曲賞の第一位。作曲家として東京フィルハーモニー交響楽団やコート・バスク・バイヨンヌ地方の国立音楽院オーケストラ、オイアッソ・ ノヴィスやアンサンブル・ケーン、インジ、ロクテゥオル・ア・ヴァン(L’octuor a vent)などのアンサンブル、Opiyo Okach(ダンサー)と様々なアーティストに作品を提供。これまでに Bernard Lubat、 Benat Achiary、Dominique Répécaud、Thierry Madiot、 Raoul Barbosa、Michel Etchecopar、Saïd Nissiaと共演している。



Soñando (flau,2013)
Umarete Wa Mita Keredo (flau,2015)


ep & singles
_4'33 (John Cage) (onement,2006)
Music of Wheel (creative sources,2007)
Passacaille (idiosyncatics, 2007)
Mary Ann's Theme (no label, 2008)
For The Black Monk (etiefeucomme, 2010)
La Musique en mouvement contraire (no laabel, 2011)
17’16 for Morris Louis ( chat blanc, 2012)

Erik Satie & les nouveaux jeunes (arbouse, 2011)


You Will Leave No Mark On The Winter Snow

Press Quotes

Music that’s immediately attractive and persistently elusive - The Wire

This slow and quiet material may take some time to yield up its secrets, but it has accuracy and clarity -
The Sound Projector

Quite quiet and quite nice - Vital Weekly

One of the most accessible releases on the Creative Sources label
 Touching Extremes

0 offers a new playground full of folds in which one can coil up - Mouvement

One of the best releases ever on Creative Sources - Jazz e Arredores

Essential - D-Side

Things build up with perfect timing to a quiet, gorgeous, really delicious climax - Modisti