cokiyu, who was born in Ehime, finished her masters degree of musicology study in Sonology Department of Kunitachi College of Music, Tokyo. From her college days, she has been creating works using the Max/MSP composing contemporary music for voice and woodwind instruments, and percussion instruments. Her works have been selected at the ICMC(International Computer Music Conference) '99 in Beijing and the ICMC2003 in Sweden. She started to do live performances since 2002 with many international artists such as Dot Allison, AGF. She has appeared at SPOT Festival '09 (Denmark) and also records as vocalist with Bichi (hobby industries/aka: The Blue Foundation), aus (u-cover/flau/moteer), Eberg, Robert Svensson (Mixtapes and Cellmates). In 2007, she released 1st album "Mirror Flake" from a butting edge label flau in Tokyo. Her work is used on the website of Canon, and used in Tokyo Motor Show.

愛媛出身の女性アーティスト。音大在学時よりコンピュータを用いた現代音楽作品を創作。2007年、flauよりデビューアルバム『Mirror Flake』を発表。アルバムの楽曲が、東京モーターショーや映画の挿入歌として使用され、話題を呼ぶ。ボーカリストとしても参加アルバムが多数リリースされており、ausでは SonarSound Tokyo、De La FANTASIA、SUMMER SONICに出演。デンマークの SPOT FESTIVAL 他、オーストラリア、中国、マレーシアなど海外でのライブパフォーマンスも行い好評を博す。
2011年に大ヒットを記録した中島哲也監督の映画『告白』のサウンドトラックに新録曲2曲を提供、作曲家としても幅を広げ、昨年8月には『Mirror Flake』のリマスター盤(Ametsub、Geskia、Tyme.によるリミックスを追加収録)を、9月には4年ぶりとなる新作『Your Thorn』をリリース。リスナーに留まらず、さまざまなアーティストからも高い評価を得る。今年BathsやGeskia!、LASTorderとのコラボレーションによる最新シングル『Haku』を発表。Pitchfork、Gorilla vs Bearなどに取り上げられるなど、日本のエレクトロニック・ポップのアーティストとして確固たる存在感を得ている。最近では学生の頃に傾倒していたノイズセットも復活させており、更なる活動の展開が期待される。


Mirror Flake(flau,2007)
Your Thorn (flau,2011)
Your Thorn Remixes (flau,2011)
Haku (flau,2013)

Echod (flau,2006)
Schole Compilation vol.1(shole,2007)
Little Things (flau,2008)
Kokuhaku / Confession Original Soundtrack (hostess,2010)
Music For Couples (wonderyou,2011)
Ten Years On The Blanket (preco,2011)
For Nihon (unseen,2011)
SummerScape (bunkai-kei,2012)
Amorphous (hz,2012)

Collaboration (as a singer):
Mexico - Bit Suite (tokuma japan communications,2006)
aus - Sonorapid (music related,2006)
aus - Curveland (moteer,2006)
Robert Svensson - Young Punks Are On The Never-Never (nomethod,2008)
aus - After All (flau,2009)
Eberg - Antidote (rallye,2009)
aus - Light In August, Later (someone good,2009)
Tsan - Kairos Time Works (magic book,2009)
re:plus - Everlasting Truth (goontrax,2010)
chloe - Winter Songs (pci music,2010)
Autumnleaf - The Foot (wood/water,2011)
mergrim - Hyper Fleeting Vision (progressive form/moph,2013)

Autumnleaf - The Foot Remixes (wood/water records,2011)
nels - Symbiosis (ensl,2012)
mergrim - Intersect Landscape... (moph,2012)
Her Ghost Friend - Koisuru Wakusei, Hateshinai Monogatari (cosmic counterpoint,2013)

Press Quotes

Our dream girl…sounds like: sugar, spice and everything nice
- MTV Iggy

Today is a day that feels quite like a dream…Everything seems like a movie, people talk and talk, you try to listen, but somehow things go by. Days like this need dreamy tunes to slowly wake up from that stage of a felt unsoundness of mind…COKIYU brings sounds like this.
- Nothing But Hope and Passion

pure pop hypnagogia - DUMMY (selected cokiyu for ‘one of most remarkable artists in this decade’ on HUGE Magazine)

She produces very delicate, ethereal sounds, very organic noises. And gently applies her light vocals on top of it all like you’d add runny honey sirup on top of a crispy biscuit…Reminiscent of Bjork’s more gentle tracks, it’s a sound we’ve been longing for a few days already.- Sodwee

Japan native with an innocent singing voice - Earmilk

Cokiyu‘s vocals are almost as otherworldly as Grouper‘s and that ain’t bad at all -

Cokiyu’s music rests snugly alongside the like of Piana, Gutevolk and at a stretch Caroline.
- signal to noise