Sylvain Chauveau

Sylvain Chauveau has made solo records on labels such as Type, FatCat, Creative Sources, and Les Disques du Soleil et de l'Acier: very minimal compositions for acoustic instruments, electronics and vocal.
He has played live around the world (Europe, America, Asia).
He runs the label Onement, whose aim is to release one-copy vinyl records (
He is composing a piece whose duration is seven years (You Will Leave No Mark on the Winter Snow), with very long silences inside (sometimes several months).
He has made soundtracks for films and dance shows.
Sylvain Chauveau also plays with 0 (with Joël Merah and Stéphane Garinn), Arca (with Joan Cambon), On (with Steven Hess).
He was born in 1971 in Bayonne, France, and lives in Brussels, Belgium.

Sylvain Chauveau website

Sylvain Chauveau(シルヴァン・ショヴォ)は、1971年フランス生まれの現代作曲家。 90年代から本格的に音楽活動を始め、2000年頃から同国期待のアーティストとして頭角を現す。 これまでにTypeやFatCatといったレーベルから、ソロ作品9枚をリリース。世界中でコンサートを行うとともに、映画やダンス作品にも楽曲を提供し てきた。ピアノ、ギタ−、ヴァイオリン、チェロ、ヴィオラ、電子音などを自在に用いて繊細に音楽を表現し、近年では自らボーカルを務める。
またSylvain Chauveauとしてのソロ名義の他にArca, 0, ON等のプロジェクトでも勢力的に活動する彼の音楽は、エレクトロニカ、音響、 実験音楽、ポスト・クラシカルなど様々な文脈で語られており、ここ日本でも大きな人気を誇っている。




The Black Book of Capitalism (noise museum,2000, re-issue: type,2008)
Nocturne Impalpable (les disques du soleil et de l'acier,2001)
Un Autre Décembre (130701/fatcat, 2003)
Des Plumes dans la Tête (les disques du soleil et de l'acier,2004)
Down to the Bone (les disques du soleil et de l'acier,2005)
S. (type,2007)
Nuage (type,2007)
Touching Down Lightly (creative sources,2009)
Singular Forms (Sometimes Repeated) (type,2010)
Abstractions (flau,2012)

Palimpsest (schwebung,2012) w. Stephan Mathieu
Simple (fatcat,2012)

Basque Electronic Diaspora #2 (metak,2001)
Branches and Routes (fatcat,2003)
Cinematography 1 and Cinematography 2 (antiopic,2003)
Just Before Down (ants,2005)
We Deliver The Goods (cargo,2006)
Free The Future (type,2007)
Pet Series volume 6 (volkoren,2007)
Musique Pour Statues Menhirs (arbouse,2009)
Floored Memory... Fading Location (fatcat,2009)
XVI Reflections On Classical Music (point music,2009)
Variations of Silence (p*dis,2009)
Pop Ambient 2009 (kompakt,2009)
Tradi-Mods Vs Rockers : Alternative Takes On Congotronics (crammed discs,2010)
Abstracks Cassette (le confort moderne,2011)
31 Songs for Japan (flau,2011)
Benefit For The Recovery In Japan (antiopic,2011)
Erik Satie & Les Nouveaux Jeunes (arbouse,2011)

Glider - Sand from Water (alice in wonder,2002)
Pulseprogramming - Tulsa for One Second Remix Project (aesthetics,2005)
At The Close Of Everyday - Leaves You Puzzled (vokoren,2007)
Agoria feat. Kid A - Heart Beating (infiné,2011)

Below The Sea - Les Arbres nous Dépayseront Davantage (wherearemy,2002)
That Summer - Clear (tailitres,2005)
Félicia Atkinson with Sylvain Chauveau - Roman Angels (o rosa, 2008)
Library Tapes - Fragment (kning disk,2008)
Félicia Atkinson - La La La (spekk,2008)
aus - After All (flau,2009)
This Immortal Coil - The Dark Age of Love (ici d'ailleurs,2009)
That Summer - Near Miss (taitres,2010)