The World Left Behind

cat#: FLAU49
Release Date: Japan-Sep. 2nd / Overseas-Sep.18th 2015
Format: CD/Digital




  • 01 Playground For Birds
    02 Frozen Forest
    03 Dancing Under The Filtered Sun
    04 Waxing Moon
    05 From Paradise Past
    06 Can't See Through The Fog
    07 It Was You
    08 Impression
    09 Immortal Island
    10 Atarashii Hito (a letter from nowhere)

The World Left Behind is the first full length album from Japanese composer Masako Nakai's moniker Rayons. Recorded in the cold of winter over two days in a european style hall, the ten songs combine piano, flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and voice in an elegant style, evolving as if the soundtrack of a ‘70s French movie in a current post-classical style.

Her friend and collaborator Predawn contributes vocals to four songs including 'Waxing Moon' and 'It Was You', which they have also performed live together. Rayons’ dramatic piano arrangements bring out a new and unique quality in Predawn’s voice and her emotional piano performance is powerful and full of grace. The World Left Behind expresses the purity of a girl with delicate femininity and commanding strength, a complete and closed world.

ミニアルバム「After The Noise Is Gone」が話題を呼んだ現代音楽家・中井雅子のソロプロジェクトRayonsが記念すべきファーストアルバムをリリースします。フルート、クラリネット、ヴァイオリン、ヴィオラ、チェロなど様々な楽器をエレガントにまとめ上げ、70年代のフランス映画のサウンドトラックを現行のポスト・クラシカル・マナーで発展させたかのような、鋭い美しさを讃える全10曲。盟友Predawnが4曲で参加し、すでに彼女のライブでも披露されている「Waxing Moon」や「It Was You」ではドラマティックなピアノ四重奏でPredawnのボーカルの新たな魅力を引き出しています。感情をダイレクトに揺さぶる情熱的なピアノソロ、気品に満ちたストリングスの調べ。閉じられた世界をテーマに、そこに生きる少女のピュアネスを女性らしい繊細さと凛とした力強さで表現したファーストアルバムです。

Press Quotes


A very pretty collection…no words are needed to convey the enticing quality of Rayons’ music - Textura

This is the most dramatic she’s ever been, moving from a hushed confessional tone to something approaching Bjork -
Make Believe Melodies

the heart, styles, and splendor of Tokyo at night -
Impose Magazine

heavily melancholic melodic structures -
Norman Records

- Intoxicate

触れた瞬間、崩れ落ちてしまいそうなほど張り詰めた緊張感と、どこか懐かしく大らかな雰囲気が不思議と調和している - Dacapo

寒さの中にこそ本当の暖かさがあることを気づかせてくれる...クラシックと現代音楽が融合する美しさ - TOWER RECORDS